About the Post

Author Information

The Clean Air Partnership is a registered charity, founded in 2000. Our mission is to work with partners to achieve clean air, facilitate the exchange of ideas, advance change and promote and coordinate implementation of actions that improve local air quality.

Contest Alert – Burlington!

UPDATE! – I’m very pleased to announce that we will be extending the deadline for entries until NOON On Tuesday, May 1st.  This extension was done so that the winner can be drawn by Sarah Elton, author of Locavore: From Farmers Fields to Rooftop Gardens, How Canadians are Changing the Way They Eat.  Sarah will be in Burlington on Tuesday, May 1 at the Burlington Central Public Library (Which just so happens to be right beside the Central Park Community Gardens, by the way) giving a talk entitled “How Canadian Locavores are Reshaping Our Meals“.  You really should attend, it’s going to be a lot of fun!

Wow.  What a great week it has been putting up all the posts from my visit to Burlington.  I told you about the great cycling infrastructure, the green buildings, the local food movement, the waste diversion and Burlington’s incredible youth engagement. There’s so many fantastic things going on in that City, it just leaves me with so much optimism moving forward.

So now that you’ve heard about my favorite sustainable things in Burlington, I want to hear about what Burlingtonians love about their City!  And I’m not the only one – Red Canoe Bistro, one of Burlington’s finest purveyors of locally sourced food (follow them on twitter here), and Mountain Equipment Co-Op (follow them on twitter here) Burlington have both jumped in on the action too.  So now YOU can win a $50 gift certificate to the Red Canoe Bistro AND a $50 gift card for MEC simply by doing one of the following:

1.) Subscribe to this blog by clicking follow near the top left of your browser window, then leave a comment on this post telling me what you love about Burlington with regards to sustainability.

2.) Follow me on twitter, and send me a tweet (@CleanAirGTA) with the hashtag #GreenBurlON telling me what you love about Burlington with regards to sustianability

3.) Like Clean Air Partnership on facebook and post on our wall what you love about Burlington, again with regards to sustainability.

And that’s it!  You can get 3 entries by posting on all 3, as long as you subscribe, follow and like us.  I’ll be accepting entries until Friday, April 27, 2012 at 5pm, Tuesday, May 1, 2012 at Noon and the winner will be announced that evening via the blog, our twitter and our facebook.  So come on Burlington, I don’t even live there and I told you 5 green things I love about your city.  What’s your favorite?

If the thought of a Dinner at the Red Canoe Bistro doesn't get your mouth watering, I really don't know what will.

A view from the front doors at MEC, where you can get pretty much anything to do with the outdoors with your $50 gift card. Camping season is upon us!

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Comments on “Contest Alert – Burlington!”

  1. Natalie Perna April 22, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    I love that the City of Burlington has made such a strong initiative to promote “Green Buildings” both to the commercial and residential members of our region.

  2. Stephen Pichocki April 23, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Great blog! What I love about Burlington is the genuine feeling of community we all share and contribute to. All of our businesses, politicians, and many citizens are genuinely committed to making Burlington a better community, which makes us stand out and why we fair so well in the annual ranking of cities in which to live.

    • cleanairpartnership May 1, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, Stephen! Every time I visit Burlington I feel like I’m becoming more and more a part of a great community of passionate people that love their city. I look forward to spending more time there this summer!

  3. Barbara Frensch April 27, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    I love that Burlington has bike racks on its City buses, bottled water is no longer being sold in City facilities, there’s a policy towards zero waste, more parks have recycling bins placed beside garbage cans, we have a new community garden, we have a great environmental Association, BurlingtonGreen and that waste stations for all 3 waste types – GreenCart, recycling & garbage are being rolled out at City facilities. It’s time we said good-bye to all stand alone “garbage” cans!

  4. Kayvon Monjezi April 30, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    I love that Burlington has improved its bike lanes and bike paths, to promote sustainable transportation!

  5. colleenmariecole May 1, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Hi Justin! I love the local food initiative – I have a strong respect for farmers and local food, as I am married to a farmer (he’s a plumber now, but the family operated a farm in the Peterborough area until a few years ago). Also, I appreciate the waste diversion. I believe strongly in keeping as much out of landfill as possible, which is why I volunteer as a moderator for a Freecycle group. Great blog – I was trying to subscribe, but your RSS feed doesn’t appear to be working.:-)

    • cleanairpartnership May 1, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      Thanks for your comments Colleen, and thank you for your contributions to Burlington’s Freecycle community. My fiance’s family are all farmers back in Saskatchewan, so I have a tremendous amount of respect for what they do. Tell your husband thank you for all his hard work!

  6. cleanairpartnership May 10, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    I’m so sorry for the delay in getting the winner announced, folks! My laptop took a tumble and I wasn’t able to access my older messages on twitter to see who had entered on there, but I have got all the data and made the draw, and the winner is…

    Barbara Frensch!

    Congratulations, Barbara, email me at blog(at)cleanairpartnership(dot)org to claim your prize!

Leave a comment