About the Post

Author Information

The Clean Air Partnership is a registered charity, founded in 2000. Our mission is to work with partners to achieve clean air, facilitate the exchange of ideas, advance change and promote and coordinate implementation of actions that improve local air quality.

Poll: Where Should my Next Day-Cation Be?

Well, now that my first Sustainable Day-Cation is coming to a close, it’s time to start looking into the future and deciding where I should go for my next trip. I went out to the eastern end of the GTHA with my last trip, so this time I’m looking to go west! So what do you think? Burlington? Oakville? Somewhere else in the western end of the GTHA? Have your say! Voting ends Friday, April 6th, 2012 at 5 pm!

7 Comments on “Poll: Where Should my Next Day-Cation Be?”

  1. Mathieu Rohaly March 29, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Oakville all the way!

  2. Kevin Love March 31, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    I voted in the “Other” category for Toronto Islands.

    As North America’s largest urban car-free zone, the people who live on the Toronto Islands have among the lowest contribution to air pollution.

    As far as I know, there are at least two bed-and-breakfast establishments among the homes there.

    Also, it is a fun place to go for a vacation, due to the many recreational activities (all car-free) on the islands.

    • cleanairpartnership March 31, 2012 at 10:57 am #

      That’s a great idea Kevin! I hadn’t even thought of doing anything on the Island, even though I’ve been there several times and really love the community and the lifestyle out there. I’ll certainly work that in to future plans.

  3. theheartofontario April 3, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Anywhere within the Heart of Ontario is a great place to visit, enjoy and explore. We’re a highly populated urban destination surrounded by lush natural landscapes from the UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve – the Niagara Escarpment, Lake Ontario and the Canadian Heritage designated Grand River carving throughout our region.

    The population within the Heart of Ontario which includes both Oakville and Burlington, strive to make greener and more sustainable efforts with LEED designated buildings in both front-runners, recycling programs offered by the many municipalities and many of our Festivals and Events of Ontario Top 100 festivals boast green clean-up methods post-festival.

    It’s hard to make a decision for us as both Oakville and Burlington are home. We look forward to welcoming you as you Find Your Way into the Heart of Ontario! http://www.theheartofontario.com

    • cleanairpartnership April 3, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      I agree whole-heartedly (pun fully intended)! The trends towards increasing sustainability in the entire GTHA, including the Hamilton-Halton-Brant region are truly impressive. Choosing between Oakville and Burlington, which are both doing some incredibly innovative things on the sustainability front, was just proving to be too difficult, so I’m leaving it in the hands of the voters! I’m looking forward to checking out more of the Heart of Ontario as my travels continue!

  4. Michelle April 5, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Healthy living happens in Burlington. Just check out the Royal Botanical Gardens or take a hike along the Escarpment’s Bruce Trail. Personally I’ll be out at the new Central Park Community Garden planning my veg garden for the coming season. Details at http://www.burlingtongreen.org

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Sustainable Day-Cation in Burlington Part 1: Cycling! | Clean Air Partnership - April 16, 2012

    […] going to next.  But I wasn’t sure where I should head for my next trip, so I put it to the court of public opinion, asking whether I should visit Oakville or Burlington next.  In the end, Oakville won the vote, […]

Leave a Reply

